Hog Show!

Saturday was the day of the African Pygmy Hedgehog UK Rescue show in Aberdeen. It was the first ever hedgehog show to take place in Scotland, and was largely the brainchild of Zoe Rooney, of Granite City Hedgehogs (one of Scotland’s most reputable breeders of African pygmy hedgehogs), and her team of volunteers, raising money for the rescue and rehoming of our belovedquilled  beasties. 

I didn’t get to take pictures, as it was crazily busy, and having Cecil in the show meant I spent a lot of time fussing over him (when he wasn’t being examined by the judges). However, it was an incredibly fun day. I had to escape outside several times to avoid having a meltdown, but when I was calm, I was enjoying the show. I owe a great deal to fellow Dundee-based hog enthusiast, Corrie, who helped me look after Cecil, fetch & carry, and reassure me in my wibbly moments that all was well. Many, many thanks to her!

Cecil, sadly, didn’t win anything. The closest he got was 4th place in the mealworm-eating contest. But he was very brave for the whole day, and I’m incredibly proud of him. So many prople came up to coo at him and say how sweet he was. It’s true, despite his shyness and huffiness, he’s a handsome boy. 

I also collected a new hedgehog while I was there. She needed a new home, as her previous human was sadly unable to keep her, due to a change in circumstances. So, I now have two datling little hedgepiggles living with me. This new girl I renamed Eowyn, and she’s huge compared to Cecil! She’s also much calmer than him. I look forward to getting to know her!

  

I also discovered, while in Aberdeen, the wonder that is the buffet restaurant, Cosmo. It makes all the Dundee buffet places look really silly. The range of food is incredible, and it was very tasty too! I consumed a heroic amount of vegan sushi, custard dumplings from the dim sum, and stir-fried mushrooms. I was painfully full by hometime, but in gluttonous heaven!

I’m all on board for next year’s hog show!

Leave a comment